Books I Read Last Semester That I Loved and Grew me as a Reader

Last semester, I read many books that I loved and that grew me as a reader. Five of the books I read grew me as a reader, and the other five I cherished. Here are some books that grew me as a reader.

Book #1: Fangirl By: Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl is about a girl named Cath who absolutely loves to write fanfiction about her two favorite characters Simon and Baz. This story follows Cath’s journey through college and the difficulties she faces while she’s there. What I loved about this book is that I was really able to connect with the characters. This book grew me as a reader because it really challenged me to read more, considering it was on the longer side. Also, it was a different genre then I usually choose to read. I think the main message of Fangirl was to never give up on your dreams no matter how difficult things get.

Image result for fangirl book

Image result for dreams

Book #2: The Selection (3 book series) By: Kiera Cass

The Selection is about a girl named America who lives in a pretty twisted world. When comes a tradition in Illea called the selection where the prince Maxon has to choose a suitable bride to be the next princess, America’s family pressures her to enter. (The selection is much like the bachelor) While slowly finding herself falling in love, America discovers many things about her country. I think the theme of this book series is to put yourself out there and take risks for they can benefit in the future. I personally absolutely loved this book series! I loved it because I was very connected with the characters and the story. I felt apart of the world that the author created. This book(s) grew me as a reader because it really challenged me to think of the world in a different way. It made me question “What if this really happened?” And “How would that affect me?” Image result for the selection

Book #3: Heartless By: Marissa Meyer

Heartless is about a girl name Catherine living in Wonderland. She is a favorite of the King of Hearts but wants a different life for herself. She wants to open a bakery. Though suddenly, Catherine finds a mysterious Jest who she can can’t help but be charmed by. This story follows Catherine’s crazy yet amazing life in Wonderland. I loved, loved, loved this book! I felt apart of the story and world, and better yet it is extremely well written! This book grew me as a reader because I didn’t have any previous knowledge of the world Wonderland, and was constantly learning new things. This book also taught me to look for hidden messages in a story because most of the time, there are a lot!

Image result for wonderlandImage result for heartless book

I picked this book out originally based on what the cover looks like.

Here are some links for more about these books! :

Heartless: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18584855-heartless   http://www.marissameyer.com/book/heartless/

The Selection: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10507293-the-selection  http://www.kieracass.com/books/

Fangirl:  http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16068905-fangirl   http://www.rainbowrowell.com/fangirl/

You can find all of these books in a public library or your local book store!

Image Sources: 

All of the pictures above are from Google Images.

Leave a Reply

